Melody of China

Melody of China
Released: 1997

  1. Ding Dong Camel Bells
  2. Horse Racing
  3. Dance Music Of Yi Minority
  4. Tibet Dance
  5. Squabbling Ducks
  6. Three & Six
  7. Autumn Moon Placid Lake
  8. Little Shepherd
  9. Tatar Dance Music
  10. Fishermen Song
  11. Tumbling Walnuts
  12. Celebration Of The Lantern Festival
  13. Spring Of Pamir
  14. The Tiger Grinding It’s Teeth

Primary Voice

Yuanlin Chen, Melody of China, Sunbow Electronics
Released: 2003
Copyright © 2003 Yuanlin Chen (ASCAP)

  1. Primary Voice
  2. Rustling
  3. Seduction
  4. Rite
  5. In Streams
  6. Phantasy
  7. Fascination
  8. The Tribal Dance
  9. Festa

Primary Voice is a unique fusion series of exotic, emotional, nature music for traditional Chinese and electronic instruments. It is an exploration of combining traditional oriental concepts with modern compositional methods. The ethnic melodies are full of oriental mystery and deep emotions of mankind. The electronic sound and occasional vocals enhance the tone color and imprint with primitive rites, tales, and legends. The music describes unadorned beauty and expresses human’s instinctive desire. Primary Voice was underwritten by the American Composers Forum with funds provided by the Jerome Foundation. It is performed by members of Melody of China.

Pure Yangqin

Yangqin Zhao
Released: 1995
Copyright © 1995 Yangqin Zhao

  1. Journey To The North
  2. Grievance Of Zhaojun
  3. The Shepherdess
  4. Azaleas
  5. Old Folks Back Home
  6. Joyful Xinjiang
  7. The General’s Command
  8. Three And Six
  9. Great Waves Wash Sand
  10. Elephant
  11. Yellow River’s Boatmen Song
  12. South Xinjiang Dance Music

Since When Has the Bright Moon Existed?

Kui Dong
Released: 2010
All compositions by Kui Dong (ASCAP)

Del Sol Quartet, Evan Hirsch, Melody of China, Piedmont Children’s Choir, Robert Geary, Sally Pinkas, Volti

  1. Shui Diao Ge Tou and Song
  2. Miniature V
  3. Miniature VI
  4. Miniature VII
  5. Let Frogs and Crickets Carry It On
  6. Spring (Remastered)
  7. Summer
  8. Autumn
  9. Winter

Away from Xuan

Yuanlin Chen
Released: Jan 27, 2009
Copyright © 2009 Innova

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Tan Dun, Melody of China, Minneapolis Guitar Quartet

  1. Away from Xuan
  2. Wondering Along the Journey: I. Allegro
  3. Wondering Along the Journey: II. Andante
  4. Wondering Along the Journey: III. Vivace
  5. Wondering Along the Journey: IV. Larghetto
  6. Wondering Along the Journey: V. Presto
  7. Chasing the Sun: I. Largo – Allegretto – Andante – Allegretto
  8. Chasing the Sun: II. Adagio – Lento
  9. Chasing the Sun: III. Moderato – Largo – Moderato – Andante
  10. Chasing the Sun: IV. Lento

The Music of Gang Situ Presenting the Melody of China

Gang Situ
Released: 2013
Produced by Melody of China
Recording: Michael Demeyer and David Westby
Mastering: Sirius Sound
Copyright © 2013 Melody of China

Jiebing Chen, Liu Li, Yangqin Zhao, Melody of China, San Francisco Guitar Quartet, The Woman’s Philharmonic

  1. Concerto for Erhu, Yangqin and Orchestra (Jiebing Chen, erhu; Yangqin Zhao, yangqin; Apo Xu, conductor, The Women’s Philharmonic)
  2. Image 1 (Melody of China and San Francisco Guitar Quartet)
  3. Image 2 (Melody of China and San Francisco Guitar Quartet)
  4. Image 3 (Melody of China and San Francisco Guitar Quartet)
  5. Image 4 (Melody of China and San Francisco Guitar Quartet)
  6. Image 5 (Melody of China and San Francisco Guitar Quartet)
  7. Image 6 (Melody of China and San Francisco Guitar Quartet)
  8. Adagio (Liu Li, guqin and Melody of China)
  9. Allegro (Liu Li, guqin and Melody of China)

The recording was made possible with generous support of the Aaron Copland Fund for Music.

Yangqin Zhao
Executive and Artistic Director
(415) 215-7581

Mailing Address:
Yangqin Zhao
450A 2nd Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94118

© Melody of China 2022